It is currently Mon Jan 20, 2020 3:02 pm


Unsupported resolution

Unsupported resolution

Postby tarkil » Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:09 pm

I try to launch the game, screen becomes black and my monitor Dell U2412M displays message about unsupported resolution. It asks to change resolution to native 1920x1200. It's monitor's message, not an OS's one or something.

I tryed to delete config.bin3 file, no effect.

I tryed to put 0x04B0 (1200) into config.bin3 at offset 0x30 instead of original 0x438 (1080), no effect.

So I suggest, that the game erroneously detected my resolution as 1920x1080 when 1920x1200 should be.

Can I (a) get a fix for this or (b) force a desired resolution with command line switches or anyway (c) launch the game in windowed mode?

I read that some people have switched the game to windowed mode, but I didn't find a way to do this having no access to game UI.

My DxDiag.txt is attached.
Attachments
DxDiag.zip
(6.25 KiB) Downloaded 192 times
Last edited by tarkil on Tue Apr 14, 2015 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tarkil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby tarkil » Tue Apr 14, 2015 4:44 am

Any news?
tarkil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby tarkil » Thu Apr 16, 2015 6:11 am

Hey, guys, can I help you anyway in decision?

Problem still stays, I cannot launch my bought game during four days.
tarkil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby kofs79 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:05 am

tarkill,

I will ask the development team if there is a cli command to force a resolution to run at. I hope to have an answer for you soon, sorry for the long time to hear anything been really busy myself but I will find out for you.

kofs79
kofs79 Moderator
kofs79
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: Chicago, IL - US

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby tarkil » Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:01 am

OK, thanks!
tarkil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby kofs79 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 3:23 pm

tarkill,

Can you do the following and give me the output of the console please;

OS X

1. Go into Finder -> Applications
2. Right-click on TWoM Application -> select "Show package contents"
3. Go to folder Contents -> MacOS
4. Then you should see "This War of Mine"
5. Double Click the file and it will open a console and start the game.
6. Collect the output after you close the game out.

Windows

1. Navigate to your Library
2. Right-click "This War of Mine" on the list
3. Select "Properties"
4. In the "General" tab click the "Set launch options" button
5. Enter the following exact value (with the minus character!):
-console
6. Start TWoM and get as far as you can with the game and then close or quit if able.
7. Navigate to your Library
8. Right-click "This War of Mine" on the list
9. Select "Properties"
10. In the "Local files" tab click the "Browse local files" button
11. Locate the file "ConsoleOutput.htm" and post or PM the file or contents.

I will look for the output in PM or post.


*** ---!!!--- DO NOT USE THIS METHOD. ---!!!--- ***

:twisted: All OS's (Alternative method for all games & programs)

1. Locate the machine you're trying to get the game to work on.
2. Fine the file to start "This War of Mine" and start the game.
3. If the game is not working or not showing anything then follow the next steps.
A. Navigate to a "ToolBox" or "Shed"
B. Open the selected location
C. Run a search for "Hammer" and once found take the located item.
D. Return to the machine running the game and prepare for system correction with selected tool.
E. Start Liberally using with light force progressing to strong force until the game works correctly.
F. If the application does not work after these steps then continue with Step 3E.
G.Return the "tool" to the "ToolBox" or "Shed"
4. Enjoy the game or release of aggression for a short while before the reality of what you did sets in.
:twisted:
*** ---!!!--- DO NOT USE THIS METHOD. ---!!!--- ***
kofs79 Moderator
kofs79
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: Chicago, IL - US

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby tarkil » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:10 pm

Done.
Attachments
ConsoleOutput.zip
(32.49 KiB) Downloaded 195 times
tarkil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby kofs79 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:27 pm

Thanks for the quick response and I hope to provide you with one back. I'll post what I get as soon as I find out and hopefully get you playing the game as fast as possible.

kofs79
kofs79 Moderator
kofs79
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: Chicago, IL - US

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby tarkil » Wed Apr 22, 2015 2:11 am

Thanks a lot!
tarkil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:51 pm

Re: Unsupported resolution

Postby kofs79 » Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:41 pm

tarkill,

I have some news about this issue. It is a known problem and has been corrected in the upcoming 1.3 patch. I don't have a hard date for it but should be soon. If I hear an official date for release I will let you know.

kofs79
kofs79 Moderator
kofs79
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: Chicago, IL - US

Next

Return to Let us know about bugs and tech issues in TWoM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron