Page 1 of 1

Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:28 pm
by RamRod
I have a 13" MacBook Pro with a NVIDIA GeForce 320M card. The requirements have a NVIDIA GeForce 7600 or equivalent listed. Would my card be apart of this equivalent section?

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 11:04 pm
by sokolov
According to my research, the 320M is equivalent to a 9600 GT (Nvidia) or HD 5570 (Radeon), so I think you are good to go.

DISCLAIMER: I don't work for 11 bit, so this is just based on research.

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:04 am
by dariusg
As far as posted system requirements on the App store, It still just says OSX 10.6 as of a few minutes ago when I took a screenshot via skitch:

https://skitch.com/dgarsys/r3eb3/anomaly-warzone-earth-on-the-mac-app-store

As it is, my MBP (2007, 256 MB Radeon X1600, 2.3GHz core 2 duo) got floored by it. I'm trying to replace it soon anyway, but right now it's utterly unplayable as I see nothing but grey and a few icons. No buildongs, roads, routes, etc.

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:21 am
by sokolov
The X1600 is definitely not enough (min spec is X1800)... I am surprised it even ran.

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:02 pm
by tunix
RamRod wrote:I have a 13" MacBook Pro with a NVIDIA GeForce 320M card. The requirements have a NVIDIA GeForce 7600 or equivalent listed. Would my card be apart of this equivalent section?


320M will do fine. I recommend medium quality settings, and reducing screen resolution a bit in the game options menu for better frame rate.

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 11:13 pm
by dariusg
Thanks for confirming that I wasn't crazy there, Sokolov, but then that brings me to the problem of buying a program that told me the system requirements were 10.6, by implication an intel machine, and nothing about higher system specs. I see where they were added since, but that doesn't help me now.

Let me see what I can do about fast-tracking my laptop upgrade, I guess.


:|

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:44 am
by tunix
dariusg wrote:As it is, my MBP (2007, 256 MB Radeon X1600, 2.3GHz core 2 duo) got floored by it. I'm trying to replace it soon anyway, but right now it's utterly unplayable as I see nothing but grey and a few icons. No buildongs, roads, routes, etc.


Have you tried to lower the gfx settings in the game option menu? Switch everything to the lowest setting and let me know the outcome.

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:05 pm
by dariusg
Never did help, but the brand new MBP 15" with the 1GB graphics card... oh my.

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:31 am
by jonodavis
I too read the Mac App Store requirement of OS X 10.6 and thought I would be able to play, but my 2006 MacBook Pro (2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB ram, X1600) is apparently nowhere near fast enough to play.

The game loads, but the menu interface is jerky, and the actual gameplay is just like dariusg described, and completely unplayable.

I was tempted to try the game on my Windows 7 partition via Bootcamp, but I don't feel like shelling out more money for another version that likely won't run.

I wish the Mac App Store listed real system requirements, instead of just assuming that nobody would keep using the same computer for five years. :|

Re: Will This Run on My Computer?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:49 pm
by zeph
dariusg wrote:As far as posted system requirements on the App store, It still just says OSX 10.6 as of a few minutes ago when I took a screenshot via skitch:

https://skitch.com/dgarsys/r3eb3/anomaly-warzone-earth-on-the-mac-app-store

As it is, my MBP (2007, 256 MB Radeon X1600, 2.3GHz core 2 duo) got floored by it. I'm trying to replace it soon anyway, but right now it's utterly unplayable as I see nothing but grey and a few icons. No buildongs, roads, routes, etc.


Yup, same for me. 2007 iMac/2.16GHz Core2Duo/3GB/RadeonX1600(256MB)/OSX 10.6.7

Mostly black screen. Introductory video works, after that the menus look funny, and when you start a mission there is only sound, no visuals.